“Fatigue makes cowards of us all”

I can’t recall whether I first heard that expression from an old coach or during my times at West Point, but it came back to me with renewed understanding this week. The combination of a long push at work and an observation of a co-worker and friend upon his return from a holiday really drove this message home.

We have had multiple home sporting events every day (6 days a week) for the last week. The weather has been sporadic so not only have the days been long, but at times wet, cold or both. I have been doing my best to establish a self care routine to stay healthy and positive but by this weekend, I feel as if the toll of my physical fatigue is beginning to affect my mood. The bright side is that I have intentionally become more aware of the impact of physical sensations on my emotional state. It has allowed me to temper my own response and provided me with valuable self awareness.

My buddy, who consistently helps with the heavy lifting at work, had a chance to get away for a week – his family was in Florida and that sounded a lot better than the miserable Vermont spring. I observed that when he got back, his attitude and demeanor was MARKEDLY changed! I’m not sure I have ever paid attention to a vacation-return before (except perhaps in times of envy) but this time it had a significant and different impact on me. I was able to both appreciate the physical regeneration he displayed and his attitude of joy. It provided me with a spill-over, “appreciative joy” (muditta). I needed that.

So, since we only have a few more weeks of the grind, it provided me with motivation and anticipatory excitement for my own eventual and inevitable break at the end of the year.

I truthfully haven’t had the time or energy to crack a book in the last week. I wake up, get some morning inspiration and caffeine, stretch and/or exercise a bit to try and shed the 20+ I packed on during the winter drag and then – out the door. Evenings are pretty standard – walk in the door around 8, take care of my lonely dogs, try and eat something and collapse.

But I have listened to a couple of really good podcasts on my drive and was inspired by a news article to watch the Brittney Griner interview with Robin Roberts. Wow! The whole Griner incident happened while I was away. In fact, Griner’s rise to stardom was only a distant blip in my awareness – basketball was not something I followed closely while in Singapore. Truthfully, I think my only real response to it at the time was a dualistic one: I’m not surprised that Russia made it political tool but at the same time how could she have been so “stupid” to have carried pot into the totalitarian nation?

After watching the interview, my first thought was affirmed. Russia is a bad, backwards nation and Putin is a despot. I enjoyed my visit to Moscow but am very thankful I don’t have to live them under Putin’s rule. My impression of Griner though has changed dramatically! What an impressive person. I found her to be authentic, warm and genuinely thoughtful about the experience. I can’t wait to read the book.

I’m looking forward to the summer to catch up on sleep, reading and finally have the time to eat a real meal. When I was coaching, the hours and seasons were long but there was downtime. In this role, that doesn’t exist. I’m committed to not let it get the best of me. I’m tired, but I won’t let it turn me into a “coward”. My response to fatigue is my choice.

The spring is starting to be beautiful and the remaining season is short. I’m going to run this last lap with a smile on my face.

Until next time.

Leave a comment